encounters

The words of Rum experts

Four absolute experts in their fields, four points of view…

We questioned Gregory Vernant, Neisson master distiller, Alexandre Gabriel, Plantation master blender, Luca Gargano, owner of Velier, and Marc Sassier, president of the Martinique AOC. Four of the leading international rum specialists share their experience and their vision at the highest level.

INTERVIEWS WITH

Grégory Vernant

Master Distiller, Neisson

“We want to promote our savoir faire and the specificities of our soils.”

Neisson Profil 107

Martinique, Rhum Agricole – 52.8%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 600 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

What is your best memory connected to rum?

So many come to mind! For example, a bottle of white rum that belonged to my grandfather… I found it in 1997 – that’s a great memory and the perfect rum, in my opinion!

In a different style, there are also Sunday Ti’ Punches with friends – they’re sacred! We make them with lots of ice and good limes… They go really well with a Neisson «special» fish blaff, or before and during a barbecue, even with dessert!

INTERVIEWS WITH

Marc Sassier

President of the Martinique AOC

“Our differences are our identity. They are what enable us to produce a product like no other.”

Bally 17 YO 2000
Brut de fût

Martinique, Rhum Agricole – 58.1%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 1500 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

What is your best memory connected to rum?

Rum has always been important in my family. Both of my grandfathers were home-distillers that made their own spirits, but they always had a soft spot for the rhum agricole of Martinique. When we were kids, our grandmother would put rum in a bottle labelled “cordial for adults”. She would use it to make us “canards” (literally “ducks”, a sugar lump soaked in liquid), with a sugar cube seeped in the rum! We loved them!

Later on, memories of my grandparents caught the attention of rum-makers and probably helped me get my first job in Martinique. Since then, I’ve earnt my stripes and learnt a huge amount from my peers, who now call me «Doc»!

INTERVIEWS WITH

Alexandre Gabriel

Master Blender, Plantation

“We were experiencing a special moment in history.”

Plantation rum
Cuba 15 YO 2003

Cuba,  Traditional Rum – 59.8%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 410 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

What is your best memory connected to rum?

Rum is such an adventure… For a tasting, maybe Long Pond in Jamaica… I have a very fond memory of tasting a perfect and very old Long Pond Jamaica 100% Pot Still. For me it was a formative moment, perhaps even the moment the seed was sown for a certain Plantation Jamaica, even if I didn’t know it at the time.  That was over 25 years ago! There are rums anchored in my memory that create a garden of flavours and aromas that inspire me.

This year my best memory is definitely reawakening our chamber still, the famous «Vulcan», which dates back to the 19th century. It had been sleeping for decades on a beach in Barbados at the old West Indies Rum distillery, which bought it in the wake of American Prohibition.

INTERVIEWS WITH

Luca Gargano

Owner of  Velier

“I want to fight for authentic production, as has been done for many other products.”

FOURSQUARE
Destino

Barbados,  Traditional Rum – 61%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 2610 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

What is your best memory connected to rum?

I have so many good rum memories! But the first that comes to mind is from 5 years ago. I was in Haiti, in a village that produced Clairin. I went to see a small farmer who used a wooden mill powered by two bulls to crush his cane. When the liquid came out, hundreds of bees and butterflies arrived. It was the first time in 40 years of working in the rum industry that I had seen such a thing. It was a real lesson in humility. There I was thinking I was this great expert but I’d never asked myself why you don’t see bees flying around all the sugar mills in the Caribbean. That’s when I realized just how special Clairin is. It is the fruit of human-scale agriculture and unrivalled raw ingredients. There is no better gauge of quality than a butterfly liking your cane juice!

Hampden LROK White
Habitation Velier

Jamaica,  Traditional Rum – 62.5%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 2140 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

Long Pond STCE White
Habitation Velier

Jamaica,  Traditional Rum – 62.5% – 70cl
Limited Edition of 8654 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

Savanna herr
HABITATION VELIER

Reunion Island,  Traditional Rum – 62.5%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 2782 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

rencontres

paroles d’experts

Quatre experts absolus dans leurs domaines, quatre points de vue…

Nous avons interrogé Gregory Vernant, master distiller de Neisson, Marc Sassier, président de l’AOC Martinique, Alexandre Gabriel, master blender de Plantation et Luca Gargano, propriétaire de la maison Velier. Quatre des plus grands spécialistes mondiaux du rhum pour nous partager leur expérience et leur vision. Rencontre au sommet.

RENCONTRE AVEC

Grégory Vernant

Master Distiller, Neisson

“Nous voulons avant tout faire connaître notre savoir-faire et les spécificités de nos sols.”

Neisson Profil 107

Martinique, Rhum Agricole – 52.8%, 70cl
Edition limitée à 600 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Quel est votre plus beau souvenir lié au rhum ?

Plusieurs moments me reviennent à l’esprit. Il y a par exemple cette bouteille de rhum blanc qui avait appartenue à mon grand père… Je l’ai retrouvée en 1997 : un très bon souvenir et le rhum parfait à mon sens.

Dans un autre registre, il y a les ti-punchs du dimanche avec mes amis, c’est sacré ! On les prépare avec beaucoup de glaçons et de bons citrons verts… Ils accompagnent à merveille un Blaff de poissons « spécial » Neisson, mais sont tout aussi bons avant et pendant le barbecue, et même avec le dessert.

RENCONTRE AVEC

Marc Sassier

Président de l’AOC Martinique

“Notre différence est notre identité. Elle nous permet d’offrir un produit à part.”

Bally 17 ans 2000
Brut de fût

Martinique, Rhum Agricole – 58.1%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 1500 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Quel est votre plus beau souvenir lié au rhum ?

Le rhum a toujours été très présent dans ma famille. Mes deux grands-pères, qui étaient bouilleurs de cru, distillaient leur propre eau-de-vie, mais ils avaient toujours eu un faible pour le rhum agricole de Martinique. Lorsque nous étions enfants, notre grand-mère avait mis du rhum dans une bouteille étiquetée « sirop pour adulte » ; elle se servait de ce flacon pour nous faire des « canards », avec un morceau de sucre imbibé. Nous adorions ça !

Plus tard, l’évocation de mes grands-parents a retenu l’attention des rhumiers et a certainement favorisé ma première embauche en Martinique. Depuis, j’ai su faire mes preuves, et acquérir la reconnaissance de mes pairs, qui m’appellent aujourd’hui « Doc ».

RENCONTRE AVEC

Alexandre Gabriel

Master Blender, Plantation

“C'est avant tout la production qui me fait vibrer.”

Plantation rum
Cuba 15 YO 2003

Cuba, Rhum Traditionnel – 59.8%, 70cl
Edition limitée à 410 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Quel est votre plus beau souvenir lié au rhum ?

Le Rhum est une telle aventure… Je me souviens d’un grand moment d’émotion à la dégustation d’un très vieux Long Pond Jamaica, 100% Pot-Still comme il se doit. C’était pour moi un instant fondateur, celui où la graine, l’idée d’un certain Plantation Jamaïca a germé, il y a plus de 25 ans de cela. Il y a des rhums dont le souvenir est ancré dans ma mémoire et qui viennent enrichir un jardin d’odeurs et de saveurs qui sont mon inspiration…

Mais cette année, mon plus beau souvenir, c’est très certainement le réveil de notre alambic à chambre (chamber Still), le fameux « Vulcan » fabriqué à la fin du XIXe. Il sommeillait depuis des décennies sur une plage de la Barbade au sein de la vieille distillerie West Indies Rum qui en avait fait l’acquisition aux lendemains de la prohibition Américaine.

RENCONTRE AVEC

Luca Gargano

Propriétaire de la maison Velier

“Mon combat est très simple, il consiste à défendre une production authentique.”

FOURSQUARE
Destino

La Barbade, Rhum Traditionnel – 61%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 2610 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Quel est votre plus beau souvenir lié au rhum ?

J’ai des milliers de beaux souvenirs liés au rhum. Mais le premier qui me vient à l’esprit remonte à 5 ans. J’étais à Haïti, dans un village où l’on produisait du Clairin. Je suis allé chez un petit paysan qui pressait la canne avec un moulin en bois tiré par deux taureaux. Quand le jus est sorti, j’ai vu arriver des centaines d’abeilles et de papillons. C’était la première fois en 40 ans d’expérience dans le rhum que je voyais ça. Ça a été une vraie leçon d’humilité : moi qui croyais être un grand expert, je ne m’étais jamais demandé pourquoi je ne voyais pas d’abeilles autour de tous les moulins à sucre des Caraïbes. C’est là que j’ai réalisé en quoi le Clairin était si exceptionnel. Parce qu’il est le fruit d’une agriculture humaine et d’une matière première inégalée. Quand un papillon aime un jus de canne, c’est le meilleur test de qualité !

Hampden LROK White
Habitation Velier

Jamaïque, Rhum Traditionnel – 62.5%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 2140 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Long Pond STCE White
Habitation Velier

Jamaïque, Rhum Traditionnel – 62.5% – 70cl
Édition limitée à 8654 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Savanna herr
HABITATION VELIER

île de la Réunion, Rhum Traditionnel – 62.5%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 2782 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.