LMDW’s selection

officiels vs negoces

At La Maison du Whisky, each whisky brings back memories of distillery visits, encounters with the producers, but above all selections…

For over 60 years, we have bottled hundreds of labels and tasted thousands of samples. Throughout these pages, we’ve tried to share a small part of these experiences with you. Slices of life, during which the small stories sometimes tie into larger ones. From Caol Ila, of which we have bottled hundreds of versions, to Speyburn, with our very first single cask bottling appearing in this catalogue, each whisky has a story to tell.

CAOL ILA

Of all the Islay distilleries, we have by far selected more versions from Caol Ila than any other. The Caol in Caol Ila comes from the word coal. What makes Caol Ila so unique is its charcoal smokiness, accompanied by tangy notes found on the initial nose. This particularly well-integrated sweet and sour balance is undoubtedly what makes it a more accessible Islay, despite its high peat content. It is this intensity that we look for when selecting a Caol Ila. The nose is always key and needs to fully express either its unique smoke, tangy notes, or exoticism. The new spirit is more subtle than that of Laphroaig or Bowmore is and is heavily influenced by the cask. That’s why bourbon casks often produce lovely coconut notes.

CAOL ILA 7 YO 2010
the Single Malts of Scotland

Islay Single Malt – 57.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #316209 – Hogshead
Limited Edition of 306 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

CAOL ILA 14 YO 2003
connoisseurs choice

Islay Single Malt – 54.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #302288 – First Fill Bourbon Barrel
Limited Edition of 186 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

BOWMORE 22 YO 1996
Hidden spirits

Islay Single Malt – 53.6%, 70cl
Single Cask #BW9618 – Bourbon Barrel
Limited Edition of 274 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Founded in 2013 by Andréa Ferrari, Hidden Spirits is a young Italian bottler based in Ferrare. In addition to hand-picked single malts, it also bottles very high-quality rums.

Shop now

BOWMORE

For La Maison du Whisky, Bowmore is a malt of extremes. This year, the 22 year old version from independent bottler Hidden Spirits is a perfect example of exoticism, with notes of pineapple and passion fruit. As for the 2001 expression bottled for the Artist #8 range, it has a fruity unctuousness that bears something of a resemblance to many of the Bowmore of the 1960s.

GLENDRONACH

Don’t hold back on the superlatives! For us, Glendronach is one of the best whiskies in the world. From a young age, its single malt expresses exceptional qualities that continually improve with time and represents the very essence of sherry cask ageing. Its single malts often express an unctuous softness, through notes of leather, cigar, dried fruit and cocoa, such as this 25 year old, whose fruity and spicy notes are livened up with a light hint of smoke.

GLENDRONACH 26 YO 1992
PX Puncheon

Highland Single Malt – 51.8%, 70cl
Single Cask #8316 – Pedro Ximenez Puncheon
Limited Edition of 698 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Distilled in 1992 and aged in a Pedro Ximénez cask, this bottling beautifully illustrates the unique style of a single malt that needs no introduction. Fans of this malt will delight in exploring the herbaceous, vegetal lands that astutely refresh the palette of flavors and aromas.

Shop now

GLENLIVET 15 YO 2003
connoisseurs choice

Speyside Single Malt – 56.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #800353 – Refill Bourbon Barrel
Limited Edition of 104 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Glenlivet is unquestionably one of the most popular single malts sold by Gordon & Macphail, Scotland’s most well-known independent bottler. This should come as no surprise, as this venerable distillery is found in Elgin, the capital of Speyside.

Shop now

GLENLIVET

La Maison du Whisky has always had a close relationship with Glenlivet. In the 1960s, it was one of the first single malts we distributed. Glenlivet is a fruity, refined and elegant single malt. It is a true classic with a very wide palette of aromas. With the exception of peat, it is capable of expressing every register of whisky. The «Chronicles» version from Gordon & MacPhail, a 2003 bottling aged for 15 years in ex-bourbon casks, reveals another facet of Glenlivet, its finesse. Extremely well-structured, with light citrus notes, it is a true Speyside classic and a superb whisky.

ABERLOUR

La Maison du Whisky is a huge fan of Aberlour. Like many Speysides, this type of whisky gains finesse with age, with the sherry giving it a patina of rare elegance. Extremely well-balanced, Aberlour never gives in to excess. Never too animal, never too tannic, never too exuberant, its sherry casks create a civilized whisky not dissimilar to a very old cognac or an aged fruit brandy, excellent after-dinner drinks. This 19 year old single cask, with its perfect balance of fruity, floral, spicy, honeyed, chocolatey and exotic notes, is a true model of its kind.

ABERLOUR 19 YO
First Fill Sherry hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 53.1%, 70cl
Single Cask #4824 – First Fill Sherry Hogshead
Limited Edition of 294 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

The Aberlour 19 Year Old and 13 Year Old in our 2017 and 2018 Creation catalogues paid an eloquent tribute to this famous distillery which has been in the Pernod Ricard portfolio since 1974.

Shop now

THE

PURSUIT

OF

PERFECTION

Exclusive distribution by La Maison du Whisky

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH,
PLEASE CONSUME IN MODERATION.

Ben Nevis 21 YO 1996
refill sherry butt

Highland Single Malt – 54.1%, 70cl
Single Cask #75 – Refill Sherry Butt
Limited Edition of 464 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

After the Ben Nevis 1984 which was aged for 13 years in a bourbon cask and finished for 18 years in an oloroso sherry butt, and the Ben Nevis 1966 from our 2018 Creation catalogue which was aged for 51 years in a bourbon cask, we are particularly proud to present this Ben Nevis 1996 which has been aged solely in a sherry cask.

Shop now

BEN NEVIS

Located in the west Highlands, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Britain’s highest mountain, the eponymous distillery continues to use very traditional methods to this day. Whilst a large part of the industry has taken on a more commercial aspect, Ben Nevis has stayed true to itself. Its unusual personality is expressed in salty and slightly smoky notes which in some barrels are even reminiscent of salted butter caramel. The first, aged 21 years, which was distilled in 1996 and aged in an ex-sherry cask, is a model of its kind, with notes of liquorice and black radish.

BENROMACH

The small distillery of Benromach is one of Speyside’s best kept secrets. Owned by Gordon & MacPhail, the largest active independent bottler today, its warehouses are home to a huge variety of casks, of all different origins and sizes… This year, Benromach has taken things up a notch once again with this single cask, also from 2009. It is pure magic! Benromach’s peaty aspect is expressed more intensely than usual, enveloping notes of red fruits and spices… it is one of the best surprises in our catalogue.

BENROMACH 9 YO 2009
first fill Bourbon

Speyside Single Malt – 59.9%, 70cl
Single Cask #116 – First Fill Bourbon
Limited Edition of 247 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Despite having the same peat content (12 ppm) as the Benromach 2009 found in our 2018 Creation catalog, this single cask is nonetheless quite different from its predecessor. Firstly in the more delicate and nuanced way in which peat and smoke take over the palette of flavors and aromas.

Shop now

AULTMORE 11 YO
exceptional cask series

Speyside Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Small Batch # AU2107 of 3 Sherry Casks
Limited Edition of 2472 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

The Aultmore distillery in Keith, Banffshire was founded in 1896. Renovated in 1970/1971, it increased the number of stills from two to four. The single malt it produces is primarily used for Dewar’s blended scotches.

Shop now

AULTMORE

This 11 year old small batch, whose richness and elegance rival that of its predecessor. We also selected an immense Aultmore 2006 single cask bottled by Signatory Vintage for Whisky Live Paris 2018. Aultmore unquestionably produces incredible sherry casks that are deeply expressive from even an early age. One thing is certain, we won’t overlook them again.

ARRAN

La Maison du Whisky has worked with Arran since it first opened. Arran recently also surprised us with some young bottlings, including a number of incredible heavily peated versions distilled in 2010! This year, in a wide range of casks of all ages, we have set our sights on a 9 year old single cask. A real « sherry bomb », this unusual Arran, which has a rare power for a whisky of this age, will delight even the most demanding of sherry cask aficionados.

ARRAN 9 YO 2008
private cask

Isle of Arran, Single Malt – 57.3%, 70cl
Single Cask #977 – Sherry Oloroso
Limited Edition of 311 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Founded in 1995 by Harold Currie, the former director of Chivas Brothers, Arran was the first distillery to operate on the island since 1837. With exceptional richness and complexity, this bottling reveals three very distinct sequences. The natural richness and fruit of the nose, the delicate mouthfeel and resplendent maturity of the finish are highlights of an indulgent tasting.

Shop now

SPEYBURN 12 YO 2006
Single cask

Speyside Single Malt – 52.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #003 – Sherry Butt
Limited Edition of 702 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Très originale dès les premiers instants, cette version séduit par ses notes de bois précieux qui évoquent clairement l’atelier d’un ébéniste (vernis, cire). Ses registres miellés, floraux ou encore épicés ont tous revêtu des tonalités tertiaires qui mettent en exergue une maturité qui dépasse de beaucoup son relatif jeune âge.

Shop now

SPEYBURN

It would be hard not to fall under Speyburn’s spell. Located in Rothes, Speyside, at the crossroads of the Glen Grant, Glenrothes and Caperdonich distilleries, Speyburn is nestled at the bottom of the road, in amongst the trees. Only its smoking chimney is seen poking out, overlooking the tops of the trees, just a few miles away. This extraordinary location has always given it a special mystery for us. In the end, at 12 years old, the 2006 version in the catalogue shows impressive maturity. With well-structured classicism, it resembles a stunning Aberlour Sherry Cask! This very rich official Speyburn chosen by La Maison du Whisky will undoubtedly not be the last.

See the making of

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH, PLEASE CONSUME IN MODERATION.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

sélection LMDW

officiels vs negoces

À La Maison du Whisky, chaque whisky nous évoque des souvenirs  de visites de distilleries, de rencontres avec les producteurs, mais surtout, de sélections…

Depuis plus de 60 ans, nous avons embouteillé des centaines de versions et dégusté des milliers. C’est un peu de ce vécu que nous souhaitons partager avec vous. Des moments de vie, au cours desquels la petite histoire se confond parfois avec la grande. De Caol Ila, dont nous avons mis en bouteille des centaines de versions, à Speyburn, dont la bouteille de ce catalogue est notre premier single cask, chaque whisky a une histoire à raconter.

CAOL ILA

De toutes les distilleries d’Islay, Caol Ila est de loin celle dont nous avons embouteillé le plus de versions. En anglais, « charbon » se dit « coal ». De coal à Caol, il n’y a qu’un pas. Ce qui rend Caol Ila si unique, c’est sa fumée charbonneuse, à laquelle viennent s’ajouter des notes acidulées que l’on identifie au premier nez. Cet équilibre sucré-salé, particulièrement bien intégré, en fait sans doute l’un des Islay les plus accessibles, malgré un niveau de tourbe élevé. Les deux Caol Ila de ce catalogue témoignent de ces particularités. La version de Gordon & MacPhail, vieillie 15 ans en ex-fût de bourbon, est teintée d’exotisme avec notamment des notes d’ananas. L’embouteillage Single Malt of Scotland, âgé de 8 ans, laisse quant à lui la part belle aux notes acidulées d’agrumes.

CAOL ILA 7 YO 2010
the Single Malts of Scotland

Islay Single Malt – 57.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #316209 – Hogshead
Edition limitée à 306 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

CAOL ILA 14 YO 2003
connoisseurs choice

Islay Single Malt – 54.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #302288 – First Fill Bourbon Barrel
Edition limitée à 186 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

BOWMORE 22 YO 1996
Hidden spirits

Islay Single Malt – 53.6%, 70cl
Single Cask #BW9618 – Bourbon Barrel
Edition limitée à 274 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Fondée en 2013 par Andrea Ferrari, Hidden Spirits qui signifie « esprits cachés » est une jeune maison de négoce italienne basée à Ferrare. Outre des single malts triés sur le volet, elle embouteille également des rhums de très grande qualité.

Acheter

BOWMORE

Pour La Maison du Whisky, Bowmore est le single malt des extrêmes. Cette année, la version de 22 ans du négociant Hidden Spirits est un parfait exemple d’exotisme, avec ses notes d’ananas et de fruits de la passion. Quant au Bowmore 2001 embouteillé dans la gamme Artist #8, il possède une onctuosité fruitée qui n’est pas sans évoquer certaines expressions des années 1960.

GLENDRONACH

N’ayons pas peur des superlatifs : Glendronach est pour nous l’un des meilleurs whiskies au monde. Son single malt exprime dès son plus jeune âge de grandes qualités qui ne cessent de se bonifier avec le temps, et représente la quintessence en matière de sherry cask. Ses single malts expriment souvent une douceur onctueuse, à travers des notes de cuir, de cigare, de fruits secs et de cacao, à l’image de cette version de 25 ans, dont les notes de fruits et d’épices sont réhaussées par une légère touche fumée.

GLENDRONACH 26 YO 1992
PX Puncheon

Highland Single Malt – 51.8%, 70cl
Single Cask #8316 – Pedro Ximénez Puncheon
Edition limitée à 698 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Distillée en 1992 et vieillie en fût de Pedro Ximénez, cette version illustre à merveille le style si unique de ce single malt qu’on ne présente plus. Ainsi, les inconditionnels prendront énormément de plaisir à parcourir les zones herbacées et végétales qui rafraîchissent toujours à bon escient la palette aromatique et gustative.

Acheter

GLENLIVET 15 YO 2003
connoisseurs choice

Speyside Single Malt – 56.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #800353 – Refill Bourbon Barrel
Edition limitée à 104 bouteilles – Une exclusivité LMDW

Parmi les single malts de prédilection du plus célèbre embouteilleur indépendant écossais, Gordon & MacPhail, figure incontestablement Glenlivet. Quoi de plus naturel quand on sait que cette vénérable maison est basée à Elgin, la capitale du Speyside.

Acheter

GLENLIVET

Glenlivet a toujours accompagné La Maison du Whisky.  Dans les années 60, il faisait partie des tous premiers single malts que nous avions distribués. Glenlivet est un single malt fruité, fin et élégant. C’est un immense classique, à la palette aromatique très large : à l’exception de la tourbe, il peut exprimer tous les registres du whisky. La version « Chronicles » de chez Gordon & MacPhail, un millésime 2003 vieilli 15 ans en fût de bourbon, dévoile une autre facette de Glenlivet : la finesse. Extrêmement bien construite, avec de légères notes d’agrumes, c’est un classique absolu du Speyside et un très grand whisky.

ABERLOUR

À La Maison du Whisky, nous sommes des inconditionnels d’Aberlour. Comme de nombreux Speyside, ce type de whisky gagne en finesse au fil des années, le sherry lui conférant une patine d’une rare élégance. Extrêmement équilibré, Aberlour ne tombe dans aucun excès : ni trop animal, ni trop tannique, ni trop exubérant, ses sherry casks donnent naissance à un whisky « civilisé », qui n’est pas sans évoquer un très vieux cognac, ou une eau-de-vie de fruit vieillie, en réalité un très grand digestif. C’est le cas de ce single cask de 19 ans qui, par l’équilibre parfait de ses notes à la fois fruitées, florales, épicées, miellées, chocolatées et exotiques, est un véritable modèle du genre.

ABERLOUR 19 YO
First Fill Sherry hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 53.1%, 70cl
Single Cask #4824 – First Fill Sherry Hogshead
Edition limitée à 294 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Les Aberlour 19 YO et 13 YO de nos catalogues Création 2017 et 2018 ont hissé haut le drapeau de cette célèbre distillerie qui depuis 1974 appartient à la société Pernod Ricard.

Acheter

THE

PURSUIT

OF

PERFECTION

Distribution exclusive La Maison du Whisky

L’ABUS D’ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ.
A CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION.

Ben Nevis 21 YO 1996
refill sherry butt

Highland Single Malt – 54.1%, 70cl
Single Cask #75 – Refill Sherry Butt
Edition limitée à 464 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Après le Ben Nevis 1984 vieilli 13 YO en fût de bourbon et affiné 18 YO en fût de sherry oloroso puis le Ben Nevis 1966 de notre catalogue Création 2018 vieilli 51 YO en fût de bourbon, nous sommes particulièrement fiers de vous faire découvrir ce Ben Nevis 1996 vieilli intégralement en fût de sherry.

Acheter

BEN NEVIS

Située à l’Ouest des Highlands, au pied du Ben Nevis, la plus haute montagne des îles britanniques, la distillerie éponyme demeure très traditionnelle dans son fonctionnement. Alors qu’une grande partie de l’industrie a basculé dans une dimension plus commerciale, Ben Nevis est toujours restée fidèle à elle-même. Atypique, sa personnalité s’exprime par des notes salines, légèrement fumées, qui dans certaines versions évoquent même le caramel au beurre salé. Cette version âgée de 21 ans, distillée en 1996 et vieillie en ex-fût de sherry, est un modèle du genre, avec ses notes de réglisse et de radis noir.

BENROMACH

La petite distillerie de Benromach est l’une des plus confidentielles du Speyside. Propriété de Gordon & MacPhail, le plus grand négociant en activité, elle possède dans ses chais une très grande variété de fûts, de toutes origines et de toutes tailles… Cette année, Benromach monte encore d’un cran avec ce single cask, millésimé 2009 : ce qui s’est opéré dans ce fût relève de la magie ! La dimension tourbée de Benromach s’y exprime plus intensément qu’à l’accoutumée, enveloppant des notes de fruits rouges et d’épices… L’une des plus belles surprises de notre catalogue.

BENROMACH 9 YO 2009
first fill Bourbon

Speyside Single Malt – 59.9%, 70cl
Single Cask #116 – First Fill Bourbon
Edition limitée à 247 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Affichant le même taux de tourbe (12 ppm de phénols) que le Benromach 2009 de notre catalogue Création 2018, ce single cask diffère cependant assez nettement de son prédécesseur par la manière beaucoup plus délicate et nuancée avec laquelle la tourbe et la fumée s’approprient la palette aromatique et gustative.

Acheter

AULTMORE 11 YO
exceptional cask series

Speyside Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Small Batch # AU2107 de 3 fûts Sherry Casks
Edition limitée à 2472 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Située à Keith dans le Banffshire, la distillerie Aultmore a été fondée en 1896. Rénovée en 1970/1971, elle passe de deux à quatre alambics. Le single malt qu’elle élabore entre principalement dans les blended scotch de la Maison Dewar’s.

Acheter

AULTMORE

Ce small batch, de 11 ans seulement, est d’une richesse et d’une élégance qui n’ont rien à envier à celles de ses illustres prédécesseurs. C’est également un immense Aultmore, un single cask de 2006 embouteillé par Signatory Vintage, que nous avons récemment sélectionné pour le Whisky Live Paris 2018. Aultmore produit incontestablement de très grands sherry casks qui s’expriment dès leur plus jeune âge jeune. Une chose est sure, nous ne passerons plus jamais à côté.

ARRAN

La Maison du Whisky accompagne Arran depuis la naissance de la distillerie. Récemment, Arran a su nous surprendre avec de jeunes expressions, dont des versions très tourbées, distillées en 2011, remarquables ! Cette année, au sein d’un large panel de fûts de tous âges, nous avons porté notre dévolu sur un single cask de 9 ans ! Véritable « sherry bomb », cet Arran atypique, d’une puissance rare pour un whisky de cet âge, saura convaincre les afficionados de sherry malts les plus exigeants. 

ARRAN 9 YO 2008
private cask

Isle of Arran, Single Malt – 57.3%, 70cl
Single Cask #977 – Sherry Oloroso
Edition limitée à 311 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Fondée en 1995 par Harold Currie, ancien directeur de Chivas Brothers, Arran est la première distillerie à produire sur l’île depuis 1837. D’une richesse et d’une complexité exceptionnelle, cette version se décompose en trois séquences bien distinctes. Le naturel gourmand et fruité du nez, la délicatesse du toucher de bouche et la maturité resplendissante de la finale.

Acheter

SPEYBURN 12 YO 2006
Single cask

Speyside Single Malt – 52.5%, 70cl
Single Cask #003 – Sherry Butt
Edition limitée à 702 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Très originale dès les premiers instants, cette version séduit par ses notes de bois précieux qui évoquent clairement l’atelier d’un ébéniste (vernis, cire). Ses registres miellés, floraux ou encore épicés ont tous revêtu des tonalités tertiaires qui mettent en exergue une maturité qui dépasse de beaucoup son relatif jeune âge.

Acheter

SPEYBURN

Difficile ne pas tomber sous le charme de Speyburn.  On peut apercevoir sa cheminée fumante, qui surplombe la cime des arbres, à plusieurs kilomètres de distance. Ce lieu hors du commun lui a toujours conféré une aura très particulière et mystérieuse. Du haut de ses 12 ans, la version 2006 de ce catalogue fait preuve d’une impressionnante maturité. D’un classicisme bien construit, il évoque un très bel Aberlour Sherry Cask ! Complexe et gourmand, ce premier Speyburn officiel sélectionné par La Maison du Whisky ne devrait sans doute pas être le dernier.

Voir le making of

L’ABUS D’ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ. A CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.