Collectors

Islay Room

For whisky lovers, Islay is in a league of its own.

This small Scottish isle is home to just 3,000 residents but its eight distilleries have made it eminently famous, and for good reason. Laphroaig, Bowmore, Ardbeg, Lagavulin, Caol Ila, Bunnahabhain, Bruichladdich and Kilchoman produce peated whiskies throughout the year that are highly prized by enthusiasts around the world. Not to mention Port Ellen, the legendary distillery closed in 1983 whose recent announcement that it is to reopen caused a wave of excitement in the small microcosm of Islayphiles.

The Islay single malts have been by La Maison du Whisky’s side right from the start. In the 1960s, we imported the first Lagavulins to France. At the time, the French palate was not particularly receptive to peat… In fact, a customer even returned a case of Lagavulin 12 Year Old to us with the note «how can you sell this?»   In the 1970s, it was the turn of the excellent Bowmore expressions perfectly marrying peat and sherry, and then Ardbeg with its inimitable notes of liquorice stick. Since the 1990s, independent bottlings of Caol Ila have always been found on the shelves of La Maison du Whisky. So far, we have listed almost 400!

Caol Ila 14 yo 1974
connoisseurs choice
gordon & macphail

Islay, Single Malt – 40%, 75cl

This 14 year old Caol Ila was bottled by Scotland’s oldest independent bottler, Gordon & MacPhail, for the legendary Connoisseurs Choice range. Extremely refined, this version reveals Caol Ila in a particularly complex light. Although, from start to finish, smoke and peat are constantly present, it is with subtle salty, medicinal, saline, ashy, mineral and even empyreumatic nuances that it slips into the palette of flavours and aromas. In the end, they gracefully take the leading role in every part of the tasting.

Shop now

Caol Ila 15 yo 1991
sestante
silver seal

Islay, Single Malt – 58.3%, 70cl

Released as part of the prestigious Sestante collection, this 15 year old Caol Ila is one of the first bottlings from Massimo Righi, the founder of the Italian independent botler Whisky Antique. This absolutely magnificent version is so concentrated that, even if you take your time, you will never be able to take everything in in just one tasting. But it would be impossible not to fall for the charm of its ashy, salty, spicy, fruity and honeyed palette of flavours and aromas that draws on contrasts to help moor itself to its home port of Caol Ila.

Out of stock

On the shelves, there are more than 300 bottles from Islay.

Ardbeg 8 yo 1991
Signatory vintage

Islay, Single Malt – 43%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 1638 bottles

Shop now

Kilchoman
Inaugural Release

Islay, Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Official Bottling
Limited Edition of 8450 bottles

Shop now

Bowmore Dawn

Islay, Single Malt – 51.5%, 70cl
Official Bottling

Out of stock

PORT ELLEN 25 yo 1982
CASK STRENGTH COLLECTION
SIGNATORY VINTAGE

Islay, Single Malt – 60.1%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 486 bottles

Shop now

BRUICHLADDICH 15 yo 1965
Ceramic decanter

Islay, Single Malt – 53%, 75cl
Official Bottling
Limited Edition of 900 bottles

Shop now

Laphroaig 10 yo
Cask Strength

Islay, Single Malt – 55.7%, 70cl
Official Bottling

Shop now

Laphroaig 27 yo
1981

Islay, Single Malt – 56.6%, 70cl
Official Bottling
Limited Edition of 736 bottles

Shop now

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

Collectors

Islay Room

Pour tout amateur de whisky, Islay est une référence indétrônable.

Cette petite île écossaise héberge à peine plus de 3 000 habitants, mais ses huit distilleries l’ont rendue éminemment célèbre, et pour cause : Laphroaig, Bowmore, Ardbeg, Lagavulin, Caol Ila, Bunnahabhain, Bruichladdich et Kilchoman y produisent toute l’année des whiskies tourbés prisés des connaisseurs du monde entier. Sans compter Port Ellen, distillerie mythique, fermée depuis 1983 et dont l’annonce récente de la réouverture a eu l’effet d’une bombe dans le petit microcosme des « Islayphiles ».

Les single malts d’Islay ont accompagné La Maison du Whisky depuis sa création : dans les années 1960, nous importions les premiers Lagavulin en France. À l’époque, les palais français n’étaient pas toujours réceptifs à la tourbe… Pour l’anecdote, un client nous avait même renvoyé une caisse de Lagavulin 12 ans accompagnée d’une note  « comment pouvez-vous oser vendre cela ? » ! Dans les années 1970, ce fut le tour des superbes versions de Bowmore, alliant à la perfection la tourbe et le sherry, puis vint Ardbeg, et ses inimitables notes de bâton de réglisse. Depuis les années 90, les versions de négoce de Caol Ila ont toujours occupé les étagères de La Maison du Whisky. À ce jour, nous en avons référencé près de 400.

Caol Ila 14 ans 1974
connoisseurs choice
gordon & macphail

Islay, Single Malt – 40%, 75cl

Agé de 14 ans, ce Caol Ila a été embouteillé par le plus ancien négociant écossais, Gordon & MacPhail, dans la célèbre gamme « Connoisseurs Choice ». Extrêmement fine, cette version nous dévoile Caol Ila sous un jour particulièrement complexe. Si, du début à la fin, la tourbe et la fumée sont constamment présentes, c’est par petites touches iodées, médicinales, salines, cendrées, minérales ou encore empyreumatiques qu’elles s’insèrent au sein de la palette aromatique et gustative. Au final, sans en avoir l’air, elles tiennent bel et bien le rôle principal dans chacune des étapes de la dégustation.

Acheter

Caol Ila 15 ans 1991
sestante
silver seal

Islay, Single Malt – 58.3%, 70cl

Appartenant à la prestigieuse collection « Sestante »,  ce Caol Ila âgé de 15 ans est l’un des tout premiers embouteillages réalisés par Massimo Righi, le fondateur de la maison de négoce italienne Whisky Antique. Absolument magnifique, cette version fait preuve d’une telle concentration que même en prenant tout son temps, il est impossible d’en faire le tour en une seule dégustation. Cependant, comment ne pas tomber sous le charme d’une palette aromatique et gustative à la fois cendrée, iodée, épicée, fruitée et miellée et qui joue constamment sur les contrastes pour mieux accoster à son port d’attache : la distillerie Caol Ila.

Épuisé

Sur les étagères, on trouve plus de 300 flacons en provenance d’Islay

Ardbeg 8 ans 1991
Signatory vintage

Islay, Single Malt – 43%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 1638 bouteilles

Acheter

Kilchoman
Inaugural Release

Islay, Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Embouteillage Officiel
Édition limitée à 8450 bouteilles

Acheter

Bowmore Dawn

Islay, Single Malt – 51.5%, 70cl
Embouteillage Officiel

Épuisé

PORT ELLEN 25 ANS 1982
CASK STRENGTH COLLECTION
SIGNATORY VINTAGE

Islay, Single Malt – 60.1%, 70cl
Édition limitée à 486 bouteilles

Acheter

BRUICHLADDICH 15 ans 1965
Ceramic decanter

Islay, Single Malt – 53%, 75cl
Embouteillage Officiel
Édition limitée à 900 bouteilles

Acheter

Laphroaig 10 ans
Cask Strength

Islay, Single Malt – 55.7%, 70cl
Embouteillage Officiel

Acheter

Laphroaig 27 ans
1981

Islay, Single Malt – 56.6%, 70cl
Embouteillage Officiel
Édition limitée à 736 bouteilles

Acheter

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.