collectors

Golden Promise

The Golden Promise is La Maison du Whisky’s first bar.

Opened in 2017 in Paris’ second arrondissement, it is home to around a thousand whiskies available to taste in every way imaginable.

The bar’s name is a tribute to whisky’s raw ingredient. Indeed, Golden Promise is the name of a strain of barley that was used in the 1960s to produce Scottish and Japanese single malts. Replaced in around 1985 by more resilient strains with a better alcohol yield, it has remained a favourite with many big names, such as Karuizawa and Macallan.

The first area is a cocktail bar. Here, Amir Enu, the house bartender, offers a menu with six chapters, Manhattan, Whiskey Sour, Old Fashioned, Boulevardier, Morning Glory Fizz, and Godfather. All of these great classics are available in every form. With more than 200 whiskies on the back bar, our mixologist has endless possibilities for expressing his creativity!

After this airlock, another surprise awaits… more than 800 rare and old bottlings are available for tasting by the glass! François Piriou and his associate Clément Gaillard know their subject like the back of their hand and are able to skilfully guide visitors through the official and independent bottlings from the 60s, 70s and 80s. The lounge collection is also home to lots of old blends of unparalleled quality. Here, an area is also dedicated entirely to rare Japanese bottlings. In this room, wooden Noh masks stand guard over dozens of old single casks from Yoichi, Miyagikyo and Yamazaki, as well as many of the greats from Hanyu and, of course, Karuizawa.

Blanton’s GOLD
Golden Promise

Kentucky Single Barrel Bourbon – 51.5%, 70cl
Cask #4
Limited Edition of 225 bottles (around)
LMDW Exclusive

Bottled exclusively for the Maison du Whisky’s bar, the Golden Promise, this Blanton’s proudly displays the colours of the Buffalo Trace distillery. Its particularly sunny aromatic and gustatory palette faithfully reproduces all of the flavours and aromas responsible for the renown of the first single barrel bourbon ever created, in 1984.

With over 1,000 bottlings at the bar – from single malts, to blended malts and blended whiskies past and present from all over the world – the Golden Promise offers a wide panorama of the world’s whiskies.

A long way from ordinary…

Exclusive distribution by La Maison du Whisky

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH, PLEASE CONSUME IN MODERATION.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

collectors

Golden Promise

Le Golden Promise est le premier bar de La Maison du Whisky.

Ouvert en 2017 dans le deuxième arrondissement de Paris, l’établissement propose de découvrir quelques 1000 whiskies à travers tous les modes de consommation, du cocktail à la dégustation, en passant par  le highball ou le chaser.

Le nom du bar est un hommage à la matière première qui est à l’origine du whisky. En effet, golden promise est le nom d’une variété d’orge qui fut utilisée à partir des années 1960 dans l’élaboration de single malts écossais et japonais. Remplacée vers 1985 par des qualités plus résistantes au meilleur rendement en alcool, elle est restée l’orge favorite de grands noms du whisky, tels que Karuizawa ou Macallan.

Le premier espace est celui du bar à cocktail. Amir Enu, le chef bartender, propose une carte en six chapitres : Manhattan, Whiskey Sour, Old Fashioned, Boulevardier, Morning Glory Fizz, et Godfather. Tous ces grands classiques sont déclinés sous toutes leurs formes. Avec plus de 200 whiskies au back bar, notre mixologue n’a que l’embarras du choix pour exprimer sa créativité !

Une autre surprise attend les visiteurs : plus de 800 embouteillages rares et anciens sont proposés au verre ! François Piriou, le gardien des lieux, et son complice Clément Gaillard connaissent leur sujet et savent orienter chaque amateur dans les méandres des versions officielles et de négoce des années 60-70-80. La collection du salon comporte également de nombreux blends anciens d’une qualité inégalable. Au sein de cet espace, une salle entière est consacrée aux expressions japonaises rares. Dans cette pièce, des masques Noh en bois montent la garde sur des dizaines de vieux single casks de Yoichi, Miyagikyo, ou Yamazaki, mais également une belle partie de la série des cartes à jouer de Hanyu, et bien sûr, Karuizawa.

Blanton’s GOLD
Golden Promise

Kentucky Single Barrel Bourbon
51.5%, 70cl – Fût #4
Édition limitée à 225 bouteilles (environ)
Une exclusivité LMDW

Embouteillé en exclusivité pour le bar de La Maison du Whisky, le « Golden Promise », ce Blanton’s hisse haut les couleurs de la distillerie Buffalo Trace. Particulièrement solaire, sa palette aromatique et gustative restitue fidèlement tous les parfums et toutes les saveurs qui ont fait la réputation du premier single barrel bourbon à voir le jour, en 1984.

Plus de 1000 expressions au compteur – single malts, blended malts et blended whiskies, d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, en provenance des quatre coins de la planète – le Golden Promise dresse un large panorama du monde du whisky.

A long way from ordinary…

Exclusive distribution by La Maison du Whisky

L’ABUS D’ALCOOL EST DANGEREUX POUR LA SANTÉ. A CONSOMMER AVEC MODÉRATION.

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.