passion

Edradour

Face to face with Andrew Symington

If you go to Pitlochry to visit Edradour – one of Scotland’s most charming distilleries – and you want to meet the owner, Andrew Symington, don’t bother looking for him in his office, you’re far more likely to find him in the warehouse or outside loading or moving barrels by the dozen. After founding Signatory Vintage in 1988, Andrew has dedicated over half his life to whisky. Despite being more used to talking about malt than himself, he agreed to spend an hour with us at the distillery’s bar to talk about his career before returning to the warehouse.

“I bought my first cask in 1988 [...] It was during this period that we met La Maison du Whisky, who became our first importer! That’s when our relationship began and 30 years later it’s still going strong!

Andrew Symington,
owner of Edradour distillery and founder of Signatory Vintage

What is, in your opinion, the best whisky ever bottled by Signatory Vintage?

We’ve bottled so many wonderful whiskies, it would be almost impossible to choose one in particular… I am proud to see so many Signatory Vintage bottlings getting top marks from WhiskyFun and Whisky Base! Our Springback 1969 40 Year Old, which was bottled in 2009, was number one in Whisky Base’s Top 100 for a few years even! Almost 10 years later, it’s still number 5 in the ranking! For me, it’s an incredible whisky but not the best. We have had, for example, a superb Macallan 1965 sherry cask, a legendary dark sherry Ardbeg 1967, and an incredibly good Laphroaig 1966, as well as more original expressions like a Glenugie 1966, an extraordinary Clynelish 1965, and a fabulous Glenlochie 1963… there are so many!

It is increasingly difficult for bottlers to get access to the warehouses of major distilleries. What do you think the future of independent bottling holds in store?

We’ve been watching the situation evolve for a few years now. That’s why I wanted to have my own production unit and bought Edradour in 2002. Luckily, we still have good relationships with distilleries, which means we can get some great casks. We still have a lot of stock and some great sherry casks in maturation. Nonetheless, we know all that could change. 20 years ago, who would have thought it would become impossible to buy a Macallan cask? All independent bottlers are facing the same problem today. The stocks from closed distilleries are almost empty, so we can’t offer such a rich and varied collection as we could before. Even though Signatory Vintage still represents 60% of our turnover, versus 40% for Edradour, the gap is closing and it will probably be the other way round in the future, which will give us more independence.

What can we expect from you in the next thirty years?

I think that’s probably a question for my kids! But I would hope they will continue to improve the quality of our whiskies year after year, and maintain our good relationship with La Maison du Whisky!

EDRADOUR 10 yo 2008

Highland Single Malt – 57.9%, 70cl
Single Cask #8 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Limited Edition of 515 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

BALLECHIN 10 yo 2008

Highland Single Malt – 60%, 70cl
Single Cask #186 – Refill Sherry Butt
Limited Edition of 703 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

We still have good relationships with distilleries, which means we can get some great casks

Andrew Symington,
owner of Edradour distillery and founder of Signatory Vintage

BENRINNES 20 yo 1997
sherry hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 55%, 70cl
Single Cask #9734 – Sherry Hogshead
Limited Edition of 239 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Shop now

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.

passion

Edradour

Nez à nez avec Andrew Symington

Si vous vous rendez à Pitlochry pour visiter Edradour, l’une des plus charmantes distilleries d’Écosse, et que vous souhaitez rencontrer Andrew Symington, son propriétaire, ne cherchez pas le bureau de la direction : on le trouve généralement dans son chai, ou dehors, occupé à charger ou déplacer des barriques par dizaines. Fondateur de Signatory Vintage en 1988, Andrew a consacré plus de la moitié de son existence au whisky.  Plus habitué à parler de malt que de lui-même, il nous accorde malgré tout une petite heure au comptoir du bar de la distillerie pour revenir sur son parcours, avant de retourner à son chai.

“J’ai acheté mon premier fût en 1988 [...] C’est à cette époque que nous étions allés à la rencontre de La Maison du Whisky qui est devenue notre premier importateur. Une relation est alors née, qui reste aujourd’hui toujours aussi solide après 30 ans !”

Andrew Symington,
propriétaire d’Edradour et fondateur de Signatory Vintage

Quel est, pour vous, le meilleur whisky jamais embouteillé par Signatory Vintage ?

Nous avons embouteillé tant de très beaux whiskies qu’il m’est difficile voire impossible d’en choisir un en particulier… Je suis fier de voir autant de Signatory Vintage dans les meilleures notes de WhiskyFun, ou de Whisky Base ! Notre Springbank 1969, 40 ans embouteillé en 2009, a occupé la première place du top 100 de Whisky Base pendant quelques années ! Presque 10 ans après, il est encore 5ème du classement ! Pour moi, c’était un immense whisky, mais pas le meilleur. Nous avions eu par exemple un Macallan 1965 en fût de sherry, superbe, un Ardbeg 1967 dark sherry, légendaire, un Laphroaig 1966, incroyablement bon, mais aussi des expressions plus originales, comme un Glenugie 1966 et un Clynelish 1965 hors du commun, un Glenlochie 1963 fabuleux… Il y en a tellement !

Il est de plus en plus difficile pour un négociant d’avoir accès aux chais des grandes distilleries. Comment voyez-vous l’avenir du métier d’embouteilleur indépendant ?

Cela fait quelques années que nous voyons évoluer cette situation. C’est la raison pour laquelle j’ai souhaité avoir ma propre unité de production en achetant Edradour en 2002. Heureusement, nous avons gardé de bons rapports avec les distilleries, qui nous permettent d’obtenir de belles barriques. Notre stock est encore important et nous avons toujours de très beaux fûts de sherry en cours de vieillissement. Néanmoins, nous sommes conscients que cela peut changer : il y a 20 ans, qui aurait parié qu’il deviendrait impossible d’acheter un fût de Macallan ? Tous les négociants sont soumis à cette problématique aujourd’hui. Les stocks des distilleries fermées sont presque vides, donc nous ne pouvons plus proposer une offre aussi riche et diversifiée qu’auparavant. Si aujourd’hui, Signatory Vintage représente encore 60% de notre chiffre, contre 40 pour Edradour, l’écart se réduit et devrait même s’inverser dans les années qui viennent, nous permettant de gagner en indépendance.

Que peut-on vous souhaiter pour les trente prochaines années ?

C’est plutôt une question pour mes enfants je crois ! Mais je leur souhaiterais de poursuivre l’amélioration de la qualité de nos whiskies année après année, et de garder d’aussi bons rapports avec La Maison du Whisky !

EDRADOUR 10 ans 2008

Highland Single Malt – 57.9%, 70cl
Single Cask #8 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Édition limitée à 515 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

BALLECHIN 10 ans 2008

Highland Single Malt – 60%, 70cl
Single Cask #186 – Refill Sherry Butt
Edition limitée à 703 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

nous avons gardé de bons rapports avec les distilleries, qui nous permettent d’obtenir de belles barriques

Andrew Symington,
propriétaire d’Edradour et fondateur de Signatory Vintage

BENRINNES 20 ans 1997
sherry hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 55%, 70cl
Single Cask #9734 – Sherry Hogshead
Edition limitée à 239 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Acheter

Leave a Reply

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

If you agree to these terms, please click here.